What Goes On – The Amazing – The Pathetic and The Opportunity

Double rainb march.jpg

a recent morning view from my lanai

What goes on in your heart – what goes on in your mind (Lou Reed)? the spiritual and the mundane live right next to each other and can be one and the same. I have written about the spiritual aspect of the Velvet Underground elsewhere, but here is what goes on in my heart and mind now. This year I have taught 5 or 6 classes on Ayurvedic cooking using principles that go back 5 000 years to the Vedas, and are designed to create the food that is healthy, great tasting and helps create balance in specific ways tailored for you now. Most of these classes were held at my humble semi-out-door kitchen on the beautiful shores of Kaneohe Bay. Ayurveda is not an abstract concept, but adjusts to your singular daily needs. Recently I cooked a variation of the basic ayurvedic rice, beans and vegetable stew called kitchadi for a family every day for a week.  The result of a greatly improved digestive system especially for the person who was suffering the most from digestive problems before.

Pumkin & Broccoli.jpg

Brown basmati rice, mung beans, pumkin, broccoli, goat cheese, ayurvedic ginger appetizer on a leaf of shiso.

Last month, I had the pleasure of teaching an Ayurvedic cooking class at the Honolulu Down to Earth.  The class was held in DTE’s community room kitchen and fully equipped with cameras and projection of the cooking process.  The attendees were genuinely curious and open minded group which made for a fun and interesting class.  A great break through came when I taught a two day class on Maui organized by Ayurvedic doctor Sylvia Welchel.  The Maui classes consisted of 15 women that were highly motivated and familiar with concepts of holistic medicine, one of them being a chef.  I was very excited with the high vibration of the class.

Red Ti Leaf.1.jpg

Ti Leaves collected and arranged by Na’ilima Ahuna

I had asked a women, whom I’ll call Suzanne, to help steer a mix of ghee and spices. I noticed something in her eyes which will remain unspoken. Later I noticed that Suzanne was missing and thought that she had gone to the bathroom.  Upon her return, I noticed a different glimmer in her eyes but didn’t think much more about it, being that I was quite busy teaching and cooking, while engaging in dialogue with everyone.

After class Sylvia, my collaborator and I sat down and she asked me if I knew what had happened to Suzanne. This is her story. Suzanne had lost her sense of smell as a child, caused by her mother’s incessant smoking. She never cooked and had developed a heavy eating disorder. During the cooking, Suzanne had had a breakdown and breakthrough. Sylvia took her into her treatment room. Suzanne was able to “feel the smell of the cooking food.” Indeed, a major breakthrough. My answer was, “if this is the only outcome of the whole weekend, all the prep, shopping, flying to Maui, etc it would still be more than amazing. If that would be the only thing I ever did, it would be ok.

My next cooking class will be held on EARTH day April 22 9 AM-12 PM. Location TBA.

living working yoga.jpg

living, working, eating, yoga all right here

Now, my landlord, who studied to be a doctor and then had a heart attack likes to get his rent check on time. He is not of the belief that I should live for free in his house because I do such good things and get him the newspaper most days. He is in a wheelchair. Living in Hawaii has its price. My rent is $ 1590.-, which after living here for eight years, I can almost consider a bargain. This is what I had to do to pay rent this month. Get as much cash advance from my second credit card, the first one is already maxed out, put in the cash I had made the day before for a private cooking class, and use my $ 500 ‘covercheck’ that covers bounced  checks. All this creates more interest and puts me deeper into depth. I have applied for social security and will get about $ 500 monthly, once it gets through and I will probably get Medicaid 2, and I might have health insurance for the first time in 17 years. For those of you who don’t know, I make my living through selling art, teaching art, yoga, taiji and ayurvedic cooking, house painting and occasionally I sell one of the NYN 7′ re-issue. Recently a gallery has sold a painting of mine on layaway. That is great. Really? Layaway? I didn’t know that existed still and I have no idea when I get paid. Another gallery has more than $ 20 000 worth of my paintings. I also have a good amount of paintings and prints at my house. Needless to say, this is the last month I can pull this off, because now everything is maxed out. Pathetic, ridiculous and stressful. I am not asking for charity. So how do you help an artist? Buy her/his art.

Here is your opportunity and here is some affordable art that is guaranteed to inspire your soul.

  1. Sri Yantra, woodcuts at $50 a piece for you yogis and meditators. for more on the Yantras. Yantra, Mandala, Pop-up        Sri Yantra.red.blue.flat
  2. Inspirational woodcut cards. Each one a unique print.10 for $ 90. Some of the cards are scanned at 3 200 DPI and can be printed at pretty much any size. They look amazing blown up. Allow.DR.72dpi.jpg
  3. NYN vinyl 7′ re-issue limited hand numbered 1…/250. On the record and other multiples.
    Just Like Dresden 45.jpeg
  4. “100 Views of Taiji” Archival print of 100 paintings,                                                      hand signed and numbered, $ 100        FA print.bl.72dpi
  5. “Gold Waves” giclee of an oil painting 50″ x 64″, or any smaller size. on request, I’ll paint over the giclee. When I Paint my Masterpiece and more paintings. Earth – Water – Sky
GoldWaves

DieterRunge GoldWavesBottom 50×64 200, 6/18/15, 5:22 PM, 8C, 10918×14081 (162+720), 150%, Custom, 1/8 s, R39.3, G30.5, B49.7

Of course there is much more. Check out the rest of the site and contact me directly at dieter.runge.808@gmail.com

If you like to know more about What Goes On, here is a heartfelt version of one of my favorite VU tunes recorded at my house a couple of years ago.  I think I might play this song as long as I can hold a guitar: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8MyXSukquz4

We have used Alice Neel as band name for a few years. When Will Williams II Stephen Niles and I formed the band, being all painters the name fell into our laps via Stephen’s great mind. Here is a clip with the real Alice: Inside New York’s Art World: Alice Neel. Music is on hiatus for the moment. When I start a new band there will be a new name.

As always, with much love and Aloha, dieter

1.28.17 polaroid.FIN.jpg

at a recent wedding – polaroids are popular again.

 

 

Leave a Reply

